about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Jan 20
... And I feel fine
I'm really a computer geek today. My fourth entry. I need to get a life. Really.

Tonight was Daryl's last night leading worship at the Well... it was fun times, but kind of bittersweet, too. We had such a great time, though, reminiscing about "when we were little...", oh so long ago. It's been almost 6 years since we started planning for the first Mexico trip... talk about making me feel old! :o)

I love that guy so much. He's so much like my big brother that I never had. We've grown up together in a lot of ways... it's fun to look back on everything we've been through. I love harassing him (and of course I get it right back) about how bad he was when we first started learning to play worship music; him on guitar, me on piano. We were horrible! it's fun to play together now, though. I've learned to play with his style; he knows how I work and what I like to do.

We were talking about Saturday Nite Cafe, too. Sometimes, I miss all that so much. Back when we were so much younger, and looking back, life was so much simpler. It didn't seem like it at the time, but it really was. Him, Matt, and I; hanging out, harassing each other... skipping out of cleanup as often as humanly possible... having waterfights in the kitchen...

They were listening to the "Free At Last" album by dcTalk at the Well tonight, and Daryl, David, and I started talking about our old music; the old Christian music we listened to, our junior high and early high school favorites, the first tapes we bought with our own money...

The cheesy movie nights at Matt's house, with the four of us hanging out, Daryl eating all the cheese sticks out of the snack mix, having to hide our shoes from Sullivan, cracking stupid jokes and just having fun times.

Brendan made the comment that this really is the "end of an era." Daryl was the last of the "original Well band" to still be playing and leading on a regular basis. Ben, Elyse, Jordan, Dan, and Brendan are all long gone from the Well. They have been for a couple of years now, at least, and Daryl's the only one that's been left. And now, he's not anymore.

I make it sound like he died or something. He'll still be around, but it'll be different. I guess it's just another part of that whole "growing up and moving on" deal, isn't it?
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:53 p.m.