about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, May 24
... Too young to look like that
Grads just keep getting younger and younger. I remember when I was in junior high and grade 10, and the grads seemed so old. Not old like ancient-old, but just more mature. Like they had things together, or something like that. Graduation from high school is a rite of passage, right? Absolutely. When I was younger, it just seemed like a bigger deal. No, not a bigger deal--they just seemed older. Then I graduated, and it seemed like we were so mature and so ready to face the world. Then, it was my friends, and that was fine, but now...

My sister's grad was today. It was a great ceremony and banquet and stuff like that, but it was just so weird. I mean, I knew half of these kids when they were in grade one and my class were their grade four reading buddies. It's just strange.

It's interesting, though. Grad levels the playing field. Everything's alphabetical. For just one day, it's not about the cliques and groups. Yeah, it's about friends, and there's a lot of the day that's about the relationships that have been built, but all in all, it's about the class as a whole.

But still. They looked so young and old at the same time. Beautiful, handsome, but kids playing dress-up. There was something about the whole scene that was just one big oxymoron. I know that seeing my kids dressed up like that doesn't have the same effect on me, but seeing all these guys like that--it was like they were too young to look like that.

I need to get to bed. It's been a day, and I work at 7 tomorrow morning.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:40 p.m.