about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Nov 10
... When Happily Ever After Begins... or Ends
It was supposed to be something to last a lifetime, and he found something better. Something that appealed to him more than the promises he made. It's quite disillusioning, and it's not even hurting me! Okay, if it's affecting me in some way, I suppose that it's technically "hurting" me, but I mean that it's not hurting me in the same way that it's hurting their kids, or her, or the rest of their close friends and family. I'm just an outside observer, yet I'm an outside observer hoping, looking, praying, dreaming about finding my Prince Charming someday, and not finding out twenty years down the road that he's leaving for a newer model.

I'm still holding out for that dream; still longing, still waiting... and it feels like I've been waiting forever. Pretty pathetic, since I'm not quite even 20 yet. But I feel like it's something I've been waiting for forever.

I'm not waiting for my gallant prince on a white steed to come and sweep me away into a fairy tale world where there are no problems, because I know that's not realistic, and stories like that don't happen in real life. I'm waiting for my gallant prince to come sweeting into my life on his white steed and move in, taking on my mood swings, bills, kids, mortgage payments, good days, bad days, family squabbles, fights, disagreements, amazingly happy times, unbelievably sad times, PMS, broken dreams, unfulfilled wishes, surprise happy endings, miracles, answered prayers, leaps of faith...

And yet, I can't seem to find him. He isn't finding me. Or if he has, he's not letting me know. Maybe I'm being too impatient, but I want my fairy tale dream to come true.

I'd hoped I'd never feel that same way again, but I've been feeling increasingly more and more dissatisfied. Therein lies my problem; I know that intellectually. I want a relationship so badly that it's overshadowing so much of life and it's becoming too much of a focal point. God has his timing, and it's not mine, and when I try to write the story myself, it goes awry, and nothing seems to turn out right. I'm trying to take over the writing from the master storyteller who's had a plot scheme up his sleeve for longer than I've been around, and I'm trying to put my two cents' worth, even though I can't see further ahead of my face than the end of my nose.

So, what to do about it? Change my attitude and priorities. Easier said than done. But it's been happening lately in other areas, so I know it's not impossible. Actually, yah it is; it's just not impossible for Him. Just for me.
infinite || abyss
posted at 10:54 p.m.