about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Nov 10
... Growing old, one day at a time
Ready or not. Ready or not. Here I come. Here life comes.

That's the weirdest thing about growing up. When I was little, I'd look at people who were graduated from high school; people who were in high school, even, and I'd think they were so old, mature, and had their life all together. Then I got there, and realized that I still feel like I'm 6 some days, and growing up isn't as much of a complete change of being as I thought it was.

Everything changes, but it's not so overnight. It's a gradual change, and I still don't feel old enough to get married, or be living on my own, or paying bills, or making huge decisions, yet I am. Okay, I'm not getting married yet, but I'm at a point where I'm thinking about it seriously (even though I don't have a guy!), and that's how I'm looking at relationships. Not that the next guy I date will be the one I marry, but I don't want to date just for the sake of dating. I want to be going into something looking for an end result. That's such a different perspective than I had when I was in high school. So completely different!

Anyways, this wasn't supposed to be about dating. It just kinda morphed into talking about that, mostly because I'm talking to Kevin about it right now.

So yah, everything changes. I'm not at the same place I was a year ago, or two years ago, or six months ago. As fast as time flies, things change even faster. Just when things are becoming somewhat stable in one area, they seem to change again... but that's life, and they tell me it seems to go even faster as you get older.
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:21 a.m.