about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Apr. 7
... Like a motherless child
I got an e-card today from Jen, and I was like, "Oh, how nice! A card for me, just out of the blue. Awww, that's sweet of her... And for no special reason, either. I wonder why she sent one..." Then I realized that it's 2 days until my birthday. Dur.

I need a man who sings. Oh my gosh. I love music so much. I love the choir concert so much. It was so great tonight... I wish I could be in it, but you know, there are just so many things one person can do. But it's just reinforced my opinion that music can cure everything. That good choral gospel music that fills the room to overflowing is the best thing going. And that I need a man who can sing. :o)

But, oh, the music. That music... I can't describe it. The cd doesn't do it justice. The descriptions don't' do it justice. It was beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. In an old church, one of the oldest ones in Calgary, with beautiful acoustics and beautiful woodworking, filled to overflowing with sounds. Joyful sound. Rich harmonies, clapping hands, shouts, laughter, "Amen!"s... it was a rich experience.

I can't wait to get to heaven. I can't wait to hear more of that than I can ever imagine. One of these days...

One thing I noticed about so many of the spirituals is that there are so many lines that start with, "Sometimes I feel..." That's how I feel. There's nothing to describe it, except, "sometimes I feel." Sometimes I feel lost, sometimes I feel found, sometimes I feel desolate, sometimes I feel joyful, sometimes I feel like I don't know what to feel. But sometimes, I feel.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:04 p.m.