about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Dec. 27
... Flashback
Just because I feel like being a geek right now... (with, of course, my own little editorial comments).

YOU KNOW YOU GREW UP IN THE 80's IF...

1. You've ever ended a sentence with the word "PSYCHE". Or "NOT" My mom got so sick of hearing that, she would make us write lines if we used "not" at the end of a sentence like that.

2. You watched the Pound Puppies. Didn't watch them, but I had them...

3. You can sing the rap to the "Fresh Prince of Belair"

4. You wore biker shorts under your skirts and felt stylish. Anyone else remember those bottoms that were little skirts attached to shorts?

5. You yearned to be a member of the Baby-sitters club and tried to start a club of your own. Oh, did I ever. I wanted to be a Baby-Sitter soooo badly... I read as many books as possible; owned as many as I could get my hands on... Those, and Sweet Valley Twins/Sweet Valley High books. Although those were both early 90's; for me, at least.

6. You owned those lil Strawberry Shortcake pals scented dolls.

7. You know that "WOAH" comes from Joey on Blossom.

8. Two words: M.C. Hammer

9. If you ever watched "Fraggle Rock".

10. You had plastic streamers on your handle bars. Not only that, I also had the little clacky things on the wheels

11. You can sing the entire theme song to "Duck Tales".

12. When it was actually worth getting up early on a Saturday to watch cartoons. Even though I didn't watch cartoons all that much as a kid...

13. You wore a ponytail on the side of your head. With the biggest bow I could find.

14. You saw the original "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" on the big screen.

15. You got super-excited when it was Oregon Trail day in computer class at school. Who didn't?!

16. You made your mom buy one of those clips that would hold your shirt in a knot on the side. I even decorated my own... I used those puffy fabric paints (you know--the kind you would use on canvas shoes, too!) and designed it myself.

17. You played the game "MASH" (Mansion, Apartment, Shelter, House) with friends at school. What do you mean, "played"? Don't you mean "play"?

18. You wore Jordache jean jacket and you were proud of it. With sequins and everything. It had some elaborate design on the back, and it was beyond cool.

19. L.A. Gear...

20. You wanted to change your name to "JEM" in Kindergarten. Actually, I made everyone call me "Star Princess" when I was five.

21. You remember reading "Tales of a fourth grade nothing" and all the Ramona books. Ramona Quimby, who made her "Q's" like little cats. Of course I read them all!

22. You know the profound meaning of "WAX ON, WAX OFF"

23. You wanted to be a Goonie.

24. You ever wore fluorescent clothing.Again, who didn't?!

25. You can remember what Michael Jackson looked like before his nose fell off...Yep... I remember all of the grade one girls saying that he was their favorite singer, and everyone had crushes on him.

26. You have ever pondered why Smurfette was the only female smurf.

27. You took Lunch Pails to school. I always wanted one of the cartoon lunch boxes, with the matching thermos, but my mom was far too practical for that--I got a fabric lunch bag with Tupperware containers.

28. You remember the CRAZE, then the BANNING of slap bracelets. Grade three gift exchange. I tried to make my own out of venetian blinds. It didn't work.

29. You still get the urge to say "NOT" after every sentence. See number one. I was cured of that habit pretty quickly.

30. You remember Hypercolor t-shirts. They were the coolest! (no pun intended...)

31. Barbie and the Rockers was your favourite band.

32. You thought Sheena and He-Man should hook up.

33. You thought your childhood friends would never leave because you exchanged friendship bracelets. I think I had 4 friendship anklets at one point.

34. You ever owned a pair of Jelly-Shoes. My mom, again showing her practical side, didn'g buy them for us as kids. So, when they came back into style a few years ago, I bought myself a pair. With gold sparkles in it. I still wear them every now and then...

35. After you saw Pee-Wee's Big Adventure you kept saying "I know what you are, but what am I?"

36. You remember "I've fallen and I can't get up"

37. You remember going to the skating rink before there were in-line skates. Late-night skating with the youth group.

38. You ever got seriously injured on a Slip and Slide.

39. You have ever played with a Skip-It. Yep. That and a Pogo Ball.

40. You had or attended a birthday party at McDonalds.

41. You've gone through this list occasionally saying "This wasn't from the 80's!"

42. You remember Popples. My brother carried one around that had been handed down to him, even though he was more a child of the 90's. But it was still there...

43. "Dont worry, be happy" We did a lip sync and dance to that song when I was in grade 3. The whole class did it for part of the talent show.

44. You wore like, EIGHT pairs of socks over tights with high top Reeboks. Or two different colors. Or one with the red sock on the outside, blue on the inside, and the other foot reversed.

45. You wore socks scrunched down. I stuck a hairbrush in the tops of my socks to stretch them out so that they would scrunch properly!

46. "Miss MARY MARY MACK, all dressed in BLACK BLACK BLACK" Miss Mary had a steamboat, the steamboat had a bell. Miss Mary went to heaven, the steamboat went to... Hello operator...

47. You remember boom boxes vs cd players. I remember when cd players were high-tech!

48. You remember watching both "Gremlins" movies.

49. You know what it maeant to say "Care Bear Stare!!"

50. You remember watching Rainbow Bright and My Little Pony Tales. Again, I didn't watch them much, but I had the toys.

51. You thought Doogie Howser was hot.

52. You remember Alf, the lil furry brown alien from Melmac. My uncle was a teenager in the 80's, and he was a huge Alf fan. So, of course, Alf was automatically cool because Doug liked it.

53. You remember New Kids on the Block when they were cool. It was the Michael Jackson of grade 4.

54. You knew all the characters names and their life stories on "Saved By the Bell", the ORIGINAL class.
infinite || abyss

posted at 7:18 p.m.