about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Dec. 27
... To laugh and run and have some fun
Well, I have a bed and a dresser now. I think that's about all the furniture I need. Oh wait, my dad's getting the table for us soon, and we'll have to buy some chairs. Then I think I'll have everything I need, for now. I'm getting there... accumulating one thing at a time. Including a whole load of boxes today, when I came home from my parents'. I think I should have enough now--most of my bedroom (that needs to be boxed, that is) is already packed up--these will be mostly kitchen stuff and stuff that can go into storage.

There's not as much of that as I thought, though! I was expecting to have a few more boxes of storage stuff... but once I pack up the kitchen, I'll have a bit more.

How utterly boring. Ah well--I'm allowed. So... yesterday was a good time. My dad's side of the family was out at the farm--his sister Lucille, her husband Kinne, and their girls, Jess and Becky; and my dad's brother, Doug, and his kids, Brittany, Mike, and Zach. Noisy, crazy, busy, and a lot of fun.

Partly Swedish dinner--not quite the full meal deal, and we had some other stuff in there too, but there was the rice pudding, pickled herring, baked beans, limpa, and Swedish meatballs, and that was lots. Mmmm... traditional Swedish food. My mom didn't really get any baking done this year, because my brother was in the hospital, so we didn't have any of our usual Christmas cookies, or coffee bread, or skorpa, or anything like that, but that's okay--we still had enough.

Anyways... big meal, presents, a movie, hanging out, watching the kids... it was a grand old time.

I want to take some stuff over, but I can't get ahold of Chelsea. Oh well... Tomorrow, I guess. :o) I'm not even bringing most of my presents in from the car--why bother? I'll just need to put them back in and haul them over soon anyways. No point in having them clutter up the house here.

And I think I've officially procrastinated about as long as I can let myself. I don't want to hang out here tonight--does anyone want to do something with me?!

One year ago today: Anyways, I was writing about Mike and Zack. Those two are quite the pair. :o) Zack's the life of the party... he knows that he's cute and that he can make all the adults smile, so he does it. He's got quite the imagination... They're quite the pair. Sometimes it's almost easy to forget that Zack's two years younger than Mike. Zack interprets for Mike, since Mike is autistic and can't always quite be understood properly, and provides the comic relief when things get too tense. Mike looks out for Zack and makes sure that he's okay.
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:48 p.m.