about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Dec. 26
... Should auld acquaintance be forgot...
Well, for lack of energy to write anything more profound...

The Friday Five. Okay.

1. What was your biggest accomplishment this year? Probably getting out of a bad relationship. I've had a lot of other, more material, accomplishments--writing my novel, directing "Morbidman," going with Testament, stage managing "Mayhem," and all that--but probably the thing that will have the biggest impact on my life in the long run was getting out. It's definitely one of the biggest healthy choices that I've made in a long time... I needed to just get to the point where enough was enough, and I'd finally had it.

2. What was your biggest disappointment? Um... towards the beginning of the year, not making Testament. That was pretty huge, but that ended up being remedied. I think that the biggest disappointment overall, though, was just the fact that life didn't turn out the way I thought it should, or the way I wanted it to. This was a tough year in a lot of ways, and that in itself was disappointing. I wanted it to be the kind of thing where, if I followed what God wanted me to do, I would have a better year for it, and it hasn't gone that way. Life doesn't go that way, and that's hard to realize.

3. Will you be making any New Year's resolutions? Not officially, but I will probably try to hit the gym more consistently than I have since November started. And I really want to be in a relationship this year. I know that's not exactly a "resolution," but it's a hope!

4. Where will you be at midnight? Do you wish you could be somewhere else? I'll be at Laura's, with Laurel, Ruth, Kat, Christian, Katelyn, and a whole bunch of other people. It'll definitely be fun--I won't want to be anywhere else, I don't think, but I'd definitely like it to be with... not someone else, but someone in addition.

5. Aside from (possibly) staying up late, do you have any other New Year's traditions? Not really. When I was a kid, we used to watch movies on New Year's Eve until midnight, and then drink sparkling apple cider or sparkling grape juice. Since then, I've just kind of done whatever. I always want to try to find someone to do something with, but New Year's Eve isn't exactly my holiday of choice. It's too party-oriented for me. I like people, but not necessarily in that kind of a setting.

And that's it. Happy Boxing Day!


infinite || abyss

posted at 10:53 p.m.