about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Apr. 12
... The Friday Five
Time for the Friday Five... (big music and dancing around the room...)

1. What is your favorite restaurant and why?

Well... I love Italian food, so the Olive Garden is definitely up there on my list of favorites. Definitely quite high up there--you can't beat their bottomless salad and breadsticks! If you judge by where I go most often, Denny's, Moxie's, and Boston Pizza are up there, too.

2. What fast food restaurant are you partial to?

Wendy's, for sure! You can't beat Wendy's fries with mayonnaise. And there's this great little place downtown that sells cheesesteak sandwiches and amazing fries. I usually try to eat there at least once every couple of months.

3. What are your standards and rules for tipping?

Generally, around 15%, which means double the GST (Goods and Services Tax, for you non-Canucks out there--it's a 7% national sales tax. But we don't have provincial sales tax, so it all balances out), and then I usually round it to the nearest dollar or 50 cents, whichever is easier to pay. If the service is horrible, I leave some sort of tip, just so they know I didn't forget about them, but I leave such a pathetically small tip that they know they're being slighted. And if I'm in a group, we often end up tipping big, because everyone just rounds to make it easier, and because it's not always fun to serve a huge group of us (although we have been complimented on being a good group to serve).

4. Do you usually order an appetizer and/or dessert?

Not usually. Only if I'm just ordering an appetizer, or just a dessert. The classic girls' night out dessert around here is the Moxie's White Chocolate Brownie. Oh my. A little piece of heaven. But with a meal? Not usually.

5. What do you usually order to drink at a restaurant?

If it's Denny's, Cherry Coke all the way. Otherwise, usually either root beer or coke; more often root beer. And if it's a fast food place, especially if I'm getting it to go, I get it without ice, so I'm not paying to have my cup half full of ice.
infinite || abyss

posted at 7:20 p.m.