about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Apr. 30
... In control, but it's not me
A.I. is one of those movies that just has too much. I loved it--I thought it was really well acted, the cinematography was amazing, and it had a good storyline and plot, but the end was just dragged out a lot too much. I know that's what just about everyone who's seen the movie has said, and it's what I said when I first saw the movie, but I just re-watched it (turning it off when it should have ended, not waiting until the end), and thought that I should regurgitate my thoughts!

I cannot juggle! This is so frustrating to learn. I can't expect to learn it overnight, though, and at least we have a lot of time practicing in team meetings. And everyone else sucks pretty much equally, so it's all good. We can throw little multi-colored, beanbag-filled balls at each other and have great fun doing it! ;o)

I'm getting more and more excited about the trip... as I rehearse more and more, and the little pieces start coming together more and more, I start to feel like it's more real. At first, I was completely in a daze about it, and it didn't feel like it was real, but now I'm beginning to believe that it's actually happening. I'm seeing--and recognizing--God's hand in more and more of it.

Like I said before, I couldn't have fully appreciated it until it was taken away and I had to reconcile the fact that I didn't have it, and then I had to hit rock bottom. And, now that I have the trip, and I'm seeing a bigger piece of the picture, I'm seeing God in it more and more. Does that make sense? I saw him before, but as I'm realizing more things about life, and about my summer, and about people, I'm seeing that he's in so much more of it than I thought he was. Or than I realized he was. Or something like that.

In any case, I'm going to Ikea tomorrow with Laura, and then going shopping with Min sometime this week, to start getting ready for the trip... start getting some of those little things that I need before I go...

I'll write something intellectual and somewhat more inspirational tomorrow, okay? Sounds like a plan.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:52 a.m.