about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, May. 1
... Give it another chance
Oooohhhh.... I just changed the layout of the quotes page! :o) I haven't been updating very regularly lately, but I'm starting to quote the missions team, so there will definitely be some interesting quotes coming from that experience! :o)

I just tried sending a massively long email about my summer to a bunch of people, and I'm not sure if it send properly. Grrr... I don't want to have to re-type it all tonight. That makes me kinda upset. Oh well... I guess I'll resend it, or something. Or maybe just wait until a little later, and hope that someone sends me an email saying, "What was that weird thing you sent me?" Then I'll know that it needs to be resent to everyone.

Oh-kay.

Here's an interesting quote for you:

The wildness of giving us freedom is even more staggering when we remember that God has already paid dearly for giving freedom to the angels. But because of his grand heart he goes ahead and takes the risk, an enormous, colossal risk. The reason he didn't make us puppets is because he wanted lovers. Remember, he's inviting us up into a romance. Freedom is part of the equation for the problem of evil. God is the author of some storms directly; but he is the author of all storms in giving us freedom. And we opened Pandora's box. The Sacred Romance, Brent Curtis and John Eldredge

An interesting thought, n'est-ce pas? One that's been mulled over time and time again, and a concept that's been presented many times, but I saw it differently. I'd never thought about the fact that for God to give us freedom to love him or reject him was to face the possibility of a second rejection.

The angels had been given the freedom to choose, and one-third of them had chosen to turn away from God. One-third of the beings he'd created had chosen to leave, and still he created more. He opened himself up to the possibility of a greater heartbreak than before.

Kind of puts second chances and opening up again after being hurt in a new light, doesn't it?
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:26 p.m.