about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Apr. 10
... Sentence fragments
Happy birthday to Amanda. If I had her email address, I'd write her, but I have no idea what she's up to these days. In junior high and high school, April was the month to be born in. In my junior high class of about 24 of us, about 7 or 8 had April birthdays. Now, it seems to be either April or October. Hmm... July and January were some pretty active months for some parents... ;o)

So I was at work today, listening to the lyrics, "If you feel like leaving, I'm not going to make you stay... but soon you'll discover, you can run, you can hide, but you can't escape my love." Kat and I were talking the other day about how those are incredibly stalkish lyrics, and so when I heard that song, I started thinking of other stalkish songs, particularly, "Every breath you take, every move you make, every bond you break, every step you take, I'll be watching you... every single day, every word you say, every game you play, every night you stay, I'll be watching you."

Anyways, God is a stalker. Did you know that? :o) I was thinking that if some guy were singing those songs to me, I would be somewhat disturbed, but if you think about it as God's words, it's very true. Especially the first one--we have the freedom to walk away, and he's not forcing us to love him, but we can't get away from his love.

And, depending on your perspective, it could be either disturbing or reassuring. Particularly the second song, because that's also true--he sees it all. I'm not sure which it is for me at the moment.

I'm making a concentrated effort to use fewer sentence fragments in this diary. I use them a lot for effect, but I also talk about how I'm so sticky about good grammar, so I think I might be using a few too many fragments for it to count as "just effect" any more.

And on another note, my wrist is a lot better. It feels almost fine; it's more like it jammed a nerve or pinched something, or something crazy like that, because my arm hurts all the way up to my shoulder now. It's kind of a dull ache, not a sharp pain, unless I keep it in the same position for too long, or flex it the wrong way.

Anyways, I had one more random thing I was going to write about, but I don't remember now what it was, so that's all for now. I'm sure it was terribly important, right?
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:51 p.m.