about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Dec. 29
... The life of the party
One more night in my house, one more night in my waterbed, and then...

I spent most of his afternoon moving stuff over to the other house, getting somewhat organized, painting my dresser (so that it'll be dry tomorrow to put clothes into), and now I have to continue packing. There's always something more to do, isn't there? Of course there is.

I'm getting excited, though. Mostly excited to be finished with all the boxes--this whole moving and not living with Kat thing kinda sucks. Although I know I'll enjoy living with Janel and Chelsea. It'll be good times.

Anyways... random train of thought for today...

I think that the "in crowd" never feels as "in" as everyone else thinks that they are. There's always the judging, right? Everyone knows that. There are the "cool" people and then everyone else, and somewhere in the middle are the people who are perceived as being "in" by some and "out" by others. The "uncool" people are convinced that they're being judged by everyone else and that if someone just looked at them for who they are, they would be accepted. The "cool" people are sometimes doing the judging, but sometimes they're just as affected by preconceived ideas as anyone else is.

I think that it's a "grass is greener" syndrome. The people that I've known over the years who are a part of the "cool" group don't always feel that way. Yeah, they have their friends, and that's great, but I've noticed that they're just as insecure as the "uncool" people. Sometimes, the people who are seen as being the coolest are the ones who feel the most like the misfits... they feel like they're on the perimeter looking in. The same way that others feel.

Everyone feels that way sometimes, I think. The people who feel like they're on the outside look at the people they think are on the inside, and they don't see the similarities between them.

If either group looked hard enough, they'd find the similiarities.

But sometimes I wonder who's more afraid of finding out the truth.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:18 p.m.