about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Dec. 30
... And then... it snowed.
Time becomes non-linear during the week between Christmas and New Year's. It always seems to stretch forever and flash by in an instant. It's not Christmas anymore, but it's not anything else, either. All of the weekly activities that make up a schedule in a week are on hold, and there doesn't seem to be anyhting pressing to do. The Christmas carols that are still playing seem incongruous, and it seems like it's been much, much longer than five days since we sat and ate turkey.

I'm sitting in my new room, surrounded by boxes. Half of them are empty, a few are still full, and a few are being repacked and sent to the basement until I move again. The more stuff I can leave packed for the next few months, the better.

The old place is almost cleared out. There's a lot of garbage left, but that's going to be cleaned out tomorrow. My dad and sister spent the afternoon with me, taking loads of furniture and boxes in my car and my dad's truck from one house to the other, emptying my waterbed, enlarging the garbage pile, and piling more boxes into my new room. And now... the place is so close to empty that it's not even funny. It's weird that that's the way we saw it when we first walked in there a year and a half ago. Strange to think that it's been that long.

It looks bigger, but it looks really empty, and it's hard to remember that it's the same place where we spent so many days and made so many memories. Without all the furniture, it just doesn't seem like the same place. And life moves on, as odd as that seems at times.

It's so easy to get so comfortable in one spot that we forget that someday, we'll have to move on from there, and we can't stay in the same place forever.

And of course we didn't get any snow for Christmas, but the night before last, just as I was ready to spend the next two days moving, it snowed a good 4 or 5 inches. *sigh* What luck I have.

Anyways, I'd better get back to those boxes. They're calling my name.

One year ago today: Note to self: Don't stay up late watching evil Dead movies when you're sick, the night before you have to do kids church in both services, when you know full well that you're not going to get very much sleep for at least the next two nights, either. Ah well... it was great fun, and worth it. :o) I have a week to recuperate from this silly cold and get my voice back before I go back to school and Cindy shoots me for not taking care of it. I'm trying!
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:05 p.m.