about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Nov. 1
... When you called my name
Okay, I miss this job. This week has been a blast, hanging out at the church all week (yes, I know I do that anyways), and actually being here for a purpose besides just being here for whatever happens to need to be done. I'm here in the office again today, even though I don't technically need to be, just because I miss it. Awwww....

The carnival went really, really well last night. The official count is somewhere over 1300 people. Not bad, hey? I got to be the official photographer--yay for taking pictures of all the cute kids in their costumes! I'm getting the film developed this afternoon, and I'm excited to see them. :o) There were a few very minor mishaps, but overall, things went incredibly well. I'm impressed, and I think almost everyone else was, too. I've gotten a lot of compliments on my work, which is always nice. It's a lot of behind-the-scenes work, and I don't do it for the recognition, but it's always encouraging when someone else notices something that I've worked really hard on, and appreciates it.

The vacuum cleaner didn't crap out on us like last year, either. It got a bit plugged by the end of the evening, but not nearly as bad or as soon as last year... one of the curtains fell down, but that wasn't a huge deal. It's just a fun thing to do... I love the carnival. My mom says it's like Thanksgiving dinner--weeks of planning, days of preparation, and it's over in an hour.

It was interesting--I was over in Mailboxes, Etc this morning to photocopy some pictures for Julie's storyboards. I needed good pictures of animals and trees, and instead of trying to find and then color them, I decided to photocopy the felt figures that they use for telling stories. It worked really well, by the way. They look great! Anyways, there was this woman there who asked if I was a teacher, and I said that no, I work in the children's ministry department at the church across the street. She knew about us--her son went to kindergarten here. I was commenting that I needed to have the boards finished today, because Julie's using them for a seminar tonight, and I had the brainwave to use the felts last night, right at the last minute. The woman said, "Well, thank God for that!" It was interesting to have someone say that, in the middle of the store, and to mean it. It was a cool experience, and yah, I do thank God for that idea, because it looks a lot better than anything else I would have done.

Anyways, I should get going, drop off the film, and then get to rehearsal. That's the story of my life--50% of the time, when someone asks what I'm up to, my answer is, "Heading to rehearsal." Ah well... I love it. It's fun.

Life is good.

One year ago today: I can't believe it's Halloween again. Or rather, that it's after Halloween again. Last year, everything changed on Halloween, and I haven't looked back since! It's weird, because it's one of those things that makes me remember all sorts of things that I don't usually think about. I really don't think about things with Brian all that often anymore--it's not part of my life. It's back there in the past, and it helped shape who I am, but it's not part of what I'm becoming now. But there are certain triggers--certain days, or events, or whatever--that make me remember weird things. Halloween is one of them.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:55 p.m.