about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Nov. 1
... It's all the same to you
I got to hang out with Kat tonight... I miss doing that. I love it when we just go out, just the two of us, and talk about anything and everything. Make up silly stories and laugh about them. Laugh about the boys in our lives. Dream about the future. Make plans for our lives five years down the road. Complain about school. Talk about people we know and where they're at now. Talk about the past. I love it. Especially when we can cap the day off with a white chocolate brownie from Moxie's.

So I just about met my word quota for today... I'll try and zip off a few more paragraphs before I go to bed. I actually have a plot now, which is a huge step better than I was at this time last night. You wanna know how I picked a plot? Of course you do.

I had an opening line for my novel, but nowhere to go from there. So, I sat down, started writing that poening line, and then kept going from there. And the story has started to develop itself. I have some good ideas... I hope I'll be able to flesh them out the way I want them fleshed out.

This is exciting... I can't wait to see how it goes--I can't wait to see if I can stick with my quotas every day, and to see where the story takes me. That's the fun thing about writing a story with no plot. You just go where the journey takes you. I have the feeling that this novel is going to take on a life of its own. It's already started to, and I'm only 1100 words into it.

I bought a cheap laptop off of ebay a few days before I signed up for NaNoWriMo. I need a new computer, and this one looks like it'll be a good one, but I didn't know exactly why I bought it when I did... and then I decided to sign up, and I think that having a laptop will be the handiest thing ever. Right now, I'm writing my novel by hand, and that's not very fun. I don't necessarily want to be confined to this computer, though--I want to be able to write whenever I have 20 minutes to spare, and not have to worry about the handwritten stuff matching the typed stuff... I'm excited to get it--hopefully sometime next week--and start going from there. I think the laptop will definitely serve my purposes for this project, and if it's not what I need after that, I can always resell it.

Anyways, I'm going to go now and try to write a little more before I go to bed. I work at 7 tomorrow morning. Bleah. Oh well... c'est la vie, hey?
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:34 p.m.