about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Nov. 18
... Time for a grade 4 Sunday School reunion?
I got an email yesterday from my friend Jenny's mom. I met Jenny and the rest of her family (her parents, and her younger sibs, Josh, Matt, and Sarah) when I was in grade3. Jenny was in grade 4, Josh was in grade 3, Matt was in grade 2, and Sarah was in kindergarten. Got a time frame of how long I've known this family established in your mind? Jenny and I were best friends through elementary, and then they moved to Houston at the beginning of my grade 6 year. I've only seen Jenny once since then, but we've been writing letters/emailing ever since (about 10 years), and she now lives in Vancouver, which is definitely closer proximity than she's been for about a decade.

Anyways, I had a crush on her brother Josh when I was in about grade 5.... hey, he was cute, okay? I heard about his wedding some months back, which rather shocked me, and made me feel old, and then...

yesterday...

I got an email...

from his mother...

announcing the birth of her first grandchild. To Josh and Rachael. Bradley Jacob.

It's one thing (although still kinda weird) when the people I know from college and even people I've known since high school are getting married. But someone I've known since I was 8? That's a little weird...

One year ago today: Boys are dumb. They make life complicated, and when life's complicated, no one's very happy. Why can't relationships be simple? Although I do have a theory on that too--if they were simple, they wouldn't be worth it. Relationships are those things that we're supposed to treasure, and we're supposed to hold onto those few special ones more dearly than gold. I know that the ones I treasure most, though, are the ones that I've had to work the hardest for. The ones I've had to sacrifice, cry, pray, and fight for--the ones that don't come handed to me on a silver platter--are the ones I treasure the most, and the ones that I'm most determined to see work out in the end. And that goes for all relationships--friends, family, "significant others," all of them. So maybe that's why God lets them be so difficult.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:17 p.m.