about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Jul. 4
... Your crying shoulder
Happy 4th of July. And, somewhat belatedly, but much more importantly, Happy Canada Day! I did actually write an entry on the first, but you'll have to forgive me for not mentioning it, since I had to abandon that entry halfway through to go heave my lunch.

Anyways... back to work today, which wasn't too bad. The day actually went relatively quickly, and it was slow enough in the afternoon that I had some time to sit down, which was nice. I wasn't feeling too hot this morning, so it was good that it wasn't so crazy busy.

For lack of inspiration for something better to say, I'll answer last week's Thursday Threesome

::"I'll be your shoulder when you cry"::

Onesome - I'll be - What did you want to grow up to be when you were a child? If you aren't fulfilling your childhood dream, what made you change it? I had all the classic little girl dreams--ballerina, figure skater, astronaut, paleantologist, actor, singer, writer... as I grew up, it kind of narrowed down into something in either writing, theatre, or music. I thought about being a teacher for a while, but that wasn't a strong enough dream to win out, so here I am... pursuing theatre. Maybe not as much onstage as I once thought I might be, but definitely making my life in the theatre world, in some sense or another.

Twosome - Your shoulder - Who's your confidant? Who do you run to when you need emotional support? Depends on the situation, but mostly Kat. Sometimes Laura, although her proximity (and lack of access to email) at the moment sometimes makes that difficult. Definitely Laurel, especially when it's something artistic, career-related, or having to do with people she went to high school with. And, for that irreplacable dash of adult wisdom, Becky. Really, can we imagine my life at the moment without her advice, gentle (and ever-so-subtle) guidance, and prayers?

Threesome - When you cry - What makes you cry? The scent of flowers? Allergies? Or are you just super-sensitive to that sad song you always seem to hear on the radio lately? Anything that's a sweet relationship moment. Sadly (this will show just how much of a geek I really am), I always choke up during certain episodes of Friends, and especially the retrospective that they showed just before the finale. Certain movies, certain songs... I'm a sucker for visuals, and the storyline and strong relationships are what make a movie really good for me--I love those random moments of tenderness that pop up out of nowhere, and sometimes those make me choke up more than the big tearjerker endings.

Anyways... that's all I got for today... nothing incredibly deep, but at least it's something.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:36 p.m.