about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jul. 6
... No white flags upon my door
Kim and I just finished I [heart] Huckabees. What a bizarre, strange, and utterly hilarious movie. I've been wanting to watch it ever since I saw the first preview for it, but just hadn't gotten around to renting it. Well, now I have. I love having a "strange movies buddy" like Kim--I know that she's up for just about anything that most normal people wouldn't be up for.

All the work shifts are switched for Friday, which means that I work at 2, instead of at 10:15, which means... PARADE! I'm so excited. For Stampede this year overall. Yes, exciting times. I'm such a geek, but I make no apologies.

I think that my mom and dad, Kat, Christian, Jakob, Kim, and I are all going to the parade together, which will be a fantastic time, and I'm really looking forward to it. As long as no one's scared by anyone else, that is. Teehee...

My face feels better, for the most part, although my jaw really aches at the end of a long day--like right now. It's strange to have so many people scrutinizing my face so closely. Becky and Craig both give me daily updates on how swollen it is compared to yesterday, and today Becky told my mom that it's looking better, but I have a dimple that I didn't have before. Still not sure where that dimple is, or if it's just the result of some leftover extra puffiness crinkling in odd ways, but apparently, it's there. And, Kat, the thought crossed my mind that it was remarkably similar to another dimple I was once told about.

The best part of my week has been not waking up to an alarm. I haven't worked until 11:30 all week, and for the first part, I was still sleeping (or throwing up) all day, so I wasn't worried about alarms anyways. I know that I'll naturally wake up in time to go to work at 11:30, so I decided to give my body the chance to rest as much as it needs to, and just wake up naturally. So, I haven't set an alarm since last Thursday, when I needed to set it to make sure I made it to the dentist on time.

Friday, it's back to the grind of alarm clocks and normal times, but for this week, I've just been letting myself wake up whenever. It's been nice.

Anyways.... tomorrow's my day off, so I'm praying for sunshine. Lollipops. Gobstoppers. Well, those too, but mostly for sunshine. I want it to be scorching hot with blindingly, dazzlingly blue skies. I want to spend the day outside, and come thisclose to burning, but stop just short of peeling. I want to read a good book in the park, go for a walk, take my journal, get a slurpee, hit the gym... so many things, so little time, and none of it urgent. Beautiful.

One year ago today: So. Someone is engaged. That's the strangest news I've heard all year, and I'm not quite sure how to take it.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:14 p.m.