about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Jul. 7
... Waiting for this moment to arrive
Well, it's been a day. Of not much, to be honest. Nice, but I do agree with Kim that days off are nice when spent with someone, for at least part of the day. That's okay, though--tomorrow will more than make up for it. And the rest of the weekend will be full (mostly with work), so what else can I say?

I think that I'm going to walk to Wal-Mart when I'm finished here, and see if I can find a really cheap straw cowboy hat. I used to have a good one when I was a kid, but it just isn't worth it for the two days a year I'd wear it. Laura would be laughing hysterically at me if whe was here, but she's not--she's off in Montana being a real cowgirl, not just pretending, like the rest of us. Still, I know that Kim's going to be wearing one for the parade, both my parents probably will be, and Kat was looking for one for Jakob, so I wouldn't want to be the odd one out, now would I?

I'm trying desperately to convince myself that I can afford to stop at Starbucks on my way home, but the sad reality is that I probably can't--I had sushi for lunch, and I'll probably stop for coffee on my way to the parade tomorrow.

It's funny. My blog goes through the strangest cycles. I'll have a series of deeper, more meaningful reflections on life for a few weeks, and then it'll get into something like this--boring, play by play descriptions of my day.

Then again, though, I think about the blogs that I read, and they're all like that, too. A combination of the day-to-day, keep-me-up-to-date-on-your-life kind of entries, as well as the musings and philosophical rants. I guess I just critique it more harshly in myself than in others.

For a very little while today, I missed being a student. Not right now--it's summer, come on--but in general. I missed, just for a while, being part of that worldwide association of sleep-deprived, beleaguered young adults. It's an elite society, you know, and I kind of missed it for a while.

Wait till I start juggling classes, nannying, work, and exploration in the fall, though, and see how much I miss being a full-time student.

One year ago today: The strangest thing about Berlin is that it's such an old city, but everything is so new. So much was destroyed during the war that everything has been rebuilt in the past 60 years, and it's this strangest juxtaposition of old and new, side by side, much more than any other European city we've been in.
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:07 p.m.