about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, May. 30
... Just glad to be free... you know what I'm saying?
This has honestly been one of the best weeks I've had all year. After the semester I had, and the weeks that were so much crap that it almost wasn't worth getting up in the morning, this is such an amazing blessing. I've been rehearsing in the morning, and then just hanging out in the afternoons and evenings. Lying in the sun, writing, reading, taking a nap, walking around on 17th, meeting people, getting last-minute stuff for the trip, people-watching... it's been amazing. So peaceful; so calm. Not just mentally and physically, but spiritually, too. I haven't felt this peaceful and rested--in every way--in ages.

I'm getting so excited for the trip. Every day, it just builds; every time we have a rehearsal and something goes well; every time I buy something that makes it seem just a little bit more real... it all sinks in just a little bit more and I get just a little bit more excited. You know when you just can't quite sit still, can't quite stop smiling, can't quite let go of the excitement? Yeah. Today in rehearsal, Sharla and I were just grinning from ear to ear, during our team discussion, and just couldn't quite wipe it off.

I know it's not all going to be easy. It's not just going to be a piece of cake, but it'll be an adventure--a different sort of adventure than I've ever had before. I'm excited to see what God does, and I want to hang onto this feeling as long as possible, so I can remember it when I'm feeling overwhelmed by the trip. I want to be able to step back from the situation and remember how exciting it is to be a part of God's work, and how exciting it is to be able to go out and do what he wants me to do! To be able to have this sort of opportunity that I may never have again in my life.

God is good. It may sound like a trite, pre-packaged answer, but it could never be more true. And it doesn't come from the naivete of a perfect life, or a perfect year. It's coming from the toughest year I've faced so far, and the realization that God is still good. His goodness and perfection goes so much deeper than my hurts. Just because I have a rough time of it doesn't mean that he's any less good.

But now, I have to go. Have a good day, okay? Be encouraged.
infinite || abyss

posted at 6:56 p.m.