about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Oct. 12
... All the pieces of me
I felt a little bit like I should be jealous of Kat's life. And then I'm not. And then I am.

She's where I thought I would be when I graduated (or graduating). Married, starting a family, trying to fit a career around that, but not having it sa the first priority. It's the life that, when I graduated from high school, I pictured myself living in 5 years.

But then I look at my life, and I realizse that, while it's not where I thought it would go, I like it. This is my life, and I'm happy with it. No, it's not where it will be, and if I'm still exactly here in 5 years, I might not be so satisfied, but right now, this is the life I'm living and the life I've been given, and I like it. I've had all kinds of opportunities that I wouldn't have had if I'd been married at 20. I would have been a totally different person, with different opportunities, struggles, and blessings.

Then I talked to Kat tonight, and I told her, and she said the same thing. I'm where she thought she would be when she graduated--single, living with roommates, travelling, working, trying to start a real career with the degree...

It's like we're living each other's lives. Or, what we thought would be each other's lives. But in the course of the past few years, they've become ours.

And you know what? Even though we're sometimes a little bit jealous of the life we thought we'd be living, I don't think either one of us would trade it for anything.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:55 p.m.