about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Apr. 4
... All the things I could do
Best part about daylight savings time? It's not dark, or even dusk, when I get off work. The winter seemed so long when it was dark by the time I left at 5:30. Today, I left, and the sky was still blue. Excellent.

Literary pet peeve: Books where the main character has left home (usually a small town) to live and work in a big city, and has to return to said small town to "find herself," in the process discovering that the big city is evil and impersonal and growth-stunting. I can understand the idea of home. I appreciate roots. But I don't like this trend that I see where the big cities are the places to be escaped from. Especially in Christian fiction. So often, these characters leave home to chase a job or career, and then circumstances draw them back, and when they get back, they realize that they never should have left.

Is there something inherently more "Christian" about a small town? Is living in a small town automatically more conducive to spiritual growth?

For some people, sure, but not for everyone. I'd like to see more books about people who find themselves and God and roots and family in the city, not necessarily in the small town.

Ah yes. Nothing like a little bias to change the direction an entry takes. Can you tell what I think?

I love my roots. There's something about driving out to the farm that gets me. But I don't live there anymore. I live in "The City," and that's not a bad thing. I have roots here, too; I'm growing here, too. I don't have to be in Langdon or Strathmore to find that.

Besides, living in a city is just so much more interesting.

Yup. I'm still just as metrocentric as I was two years ago.

One year ago today: Did I mention that there's a giant stuffed unicorn in my backseat? I find it rather amusing. It just about takes up the whole backseat. Eventually, it'll be Logan's, but for now, I think I'm going to babysit it. Which means that I have the coolness factor of a gigantic stuffed unicorn with a bright pink mane and tail riding in my backseat. Can you beat that?
infinite || abyss

posted at 6:08 p.m.