about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Apr. 3
... Makes my heart beat fast
As much as I have loved teaching these past few months, I was so grateful to be able to go to church this morning. It was so nice to sleep in a bit, go to second service, and not have to be at church at 8.

Of the past 12 Sundays, I have taught 8 of them, was out of town for one, and had to work for at least 2 (if not all three) of the remaining 3 Sundays. Fun, but it was so nice to be able to just sit in a service.

It makes for a much shorter Sunday than usual. Eight hours of work didn't seem so formidable after only being at church for 2 hours, instead of 6.

I really don't have much else to say, though. It was a pretty uneventful day. Church, lunch, work, home. And I don't think you really want to hear about all the time I spent scrubbing walls or changing translites at work.

Nah, that's so boring.

Kat's home from Creston, which means that I have someone to hang out with again. Of course, it worked out just fine to have no one to spend time with last week, because I was sick for half the week, anyways. But still. There are many, many stories to tell, and I am eagerly awaiting her listening ear.

I met a storyteller today.

I'm still in a productive mood... I got home and cleaned the litter box, cleaned the kitchen, and took out the garbage, and now I should fold and put away the clean laundry that has been hanging on the drying rack for the past few days.

Stories are calming. I love the character of the Bum in UBAR--he's such an agitated character in so many ways, but stories calm him. Every time he starts to tell or hear a story, he changes, and something in him is different. I love that. I love the power that they have. Yes, with characters, but also within real people's lives, too.

Anyways, many stories to be told; many stories still being written.

Jen told me the other day that my life may not be as "drama-queen dramatic" as it used to be, but it's still a story, unfolding little by little. According to her, my life is a 6-dvd Pride and Prejudice marathon, rather than a 1/2 hour kids' movie.

I like that.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:47 p.m.