about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, May. 19
... Walking the path that the faithful have laid down
Wow, my little Shannon's getting married tomorrow. Crazyness! And I get to see Lynsae this weekend. Fun times. And, in about an hour, I get to pack into a little bitty car with four other people to drive to Kelowna. Oh yes, the highlight of my weekend! :o)

I had something at least somewhat insightful that I was going to write about yesterday, but I just didn't get the chance, and now I can't remember what it was. Story of my life, hey? I'm such a geek.

Breanna and I went out for supper last night. That was enjoyable! I hadn't seen her since last summer, when we went out for coffee to talk about being old and how it didn't seem possible that a year had already gone by. Well, two years have passed, and there are more people engaged or married or having babies than ever before, and it's strange to think that these are the people we've known since grade two. The kids graduating this year were the ones that were in grade ten when we graduated, so that means that now there's no one at the school who actually went to school with us. Kind of makes you realize that, in high school terms, a legacy isn't that long after all.

I wonder how many people, besides some of the teachers, really remember the "Bald for Cancer" campaign, when I was in grade eleven. That was Preston's and that year's grad class' legacy, and I guess the real legacy part of it comes in the impact that it made on everyone involved and the people we actually raised money for, rather than on the school as a whole. At the same time, though, projects like that influence the community's opinion of the school, which in turn influences what later groups can do. So I guess it does leave a legacy...

Anyways, enough of that. I have a lot more that I could say on the topic of legacy, but no time right now. It was fun times. We had a blast reminiscing and just talking about everything and nothing, and creepy stalker boys, and living in dorms, and assignments, and grades, and all that fun stuff.

And now, I must pack, because I'm definitely procrastinating. I did fold all my laundry, though. Aren't you proud of me?
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:29 a.m.