about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jan 23
... Whispers of the morning
If we knew each morning that there was going to be another morning, and on and on and on, we'd tend not to notice the sunrise, or hear the birds, or the waves rolling into shore. We'd tend not to treasure our time with the people we love. Simply the awareness that our mortal lives had a beginning and will have an end enhances the quality of our living. Perhaps it's even more intense when we know that the termination of the body is near, but it shouldn't be."

A Ring of Endless Light, Madeleine L'Engle

As much as I have to talk about that isn't going well right now--and I try not to complain, but also not to gloss over and pretend that everything's perfect when it's not--I'm still alive. I still get to see tomorrow's sunrise, and watch the snow melt and the green return.

Yes, this is my place where I can vent, and if I'm having a bad day, I'm not going to fake it here. I have to fake it enough elsewhere. But in the middle of all of that, there's still the beauty of being alive. The sense of excitement and expectation for tomorrow, the joy of not knowing what surprises will come. All of that is still very alive and real, even if it's not at the forefront.

Even if everything else seems to overshadow... I'm still in love with life.
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:27 p.m.