about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Nov. 24
... Just to be the next to be with you
So now the question becomes, what do I say about the show? How many of the anecdotes do I try to relate, and if I do, will I be successful in making them come alive to anyone but those who were there? I don't think so, but I can always try.

The "silent film" run during rehearsal--Matt and Jen's melodramatic moment to "Just to Be the Next to Be With You" and the dip that went along with it.

Jordan's answer to the question: "He said I'm an idiot and I suck at living!" Janna and I just about killed ourselves laughing, because that was just so stinkin' funny, and we wished that Trevor was there to see it. So did Jordan.

Mitch and Janna breaking off their engagement every single night during dinner.

President Dirks as one of the audience plants, stealing the show and chasing one of the other audience plants around the room.

Doing the little dance with Jen and Jordan during the dinner break, because Jordan's character was in love with Jen's, who didn't love him back, and since my character was her sister, I needed to protect her, so he ended up singing "Why do birds suddenly appear..." to me and hanging off me while he did it instead of singing to her, like his character thought he was doing.

The gasps, shrieks, yelps, and surprise when Jen opened the play by screaming at the top of her lungs.

Chelsea trying to make the dead guy talk during rehearsal so no one would know he was dead.

Jordan being asked if he'd had relations with another Mayvillian, and answering, "It's a small town. Everyone knows everyone." How true... how true. There are just some places where there's nothing to do but get drunk and have sex.

The audience's surprise when they found out the ending, and all the shocked reactions when it happened.

Sharla and her Wranglers. Need I say more?

Going for supper with Janna at 1:00 in the morning, after striking the set last night, and sitting in Denny's talking about Mayhem, Joseph, the program, and a whole bunch of other things.

I don't know. As eloquent as my words can be--which they aren't right now--I can never fully explain it. I guess that's to be expected, though. It's just one of those things. You just had to be there, I guess. It all goes back to the feeling at the end of the show and the way we want it to hang around forever. But of course, it doesn't, and we become fine with that. And the next show, there are just as many little things that make it just as good as the last one.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:21 p.m.