about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Nov. 23
... Cue me!
An audience does wonders for the actors. Last night's performance was amazing--they just fed off the audience energy, and all the prompting about energy and keeping the pace up weren't even issues. It was great. The audience loved it. The actors had a blast. We were all exhausted by the end of the night, but that just means that we were working hard, and that's a good thing. It was a good kind of exhausted, not a "too tired to breathe" kind of exhausted. It was just that exhilaration that comes with a show... the adrenaline pumping and then, when it's over, it just all goes away, leaving you feeling tired but fulfilled, like you've just accomplished something great. Because we have.

It's been a grand experience stage managing this show--not nearly as intimidating as I thought it would be. There haven't been any major catastrophes, which has been a blessing, and I've had an amazing cast and directing team to work with, which has made the whole experience that much more fun. :o)

Anyways, I was reading back to a year ago, and I think it's great that this is the same weekend we ran Charlie last year, so you don't even get any variety from talking about a show in my flashback to last year! :o) That's okay...

I was talking to Owen the other day, and he was asking how many shows/troupes/etc I'm involved in right now... and I had to think about that for a second. 1) Mayhem. 2) Our Town. 3) Everyman (which we finally got our tour dates for!) 4) Joseph. 5) Sr. High summer trip. I think that's it for the moment. I'm kind of involved in the church drama at large, but not that much, so I won't really count that. I'm only doing 3 of them right now, though, and I think the most I'll really ever be doing at one time is 4. Next semester, I'll be doing all but Mayhem. But I love it. :o) I just wish I was getting paid to do it. Oh well... :o)

Anyways, I should run and get ready to head to the theatre to begin my stage management duties... two shows today, and then we're finished. Weird... the same mixed feelings as always, but first, I'll enjoy today.

One year ago today: Opening night was a blast! I love when the show actually gets to performance time... :o) This show is so much fun to do, too! There were so many little kids there, which was awesome. It's amazing how much our energy goes up when we have someone to play off of. It's way more fun for us as actors, especially during the finale, when all these little kids started dancing in the aisles. And then afterwards, they got these autograph books with our real pictures, and our cartoon characters, and we got to sign autographs.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:57 a.m.