about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Dec. 24
... I'll have a blue Christmas without you
Okay, let's try this again.

I love the Christmas Eve services at church. I'm not usually a huge dress-up-for-church type of person... I don't usually wear jeans, but I'm more into nice dress pants or a funky casual skirt than really getting dressed up. Christmas Eve, though, I usually like to dress nicer. I don't know why, but it's always just been one of those things. So, now I'm showered, shaved, lotioned, polished--and back in my pyjamas. I didn't feel like blowdrying my hair, so I showered early enough to let it airdry, but I didn't want to be all dressed up for that long (and trying to pack), so I changed back into sweats.

My room is starting to look less and less like my room. More and more of my personal touches are ending up in boxes, bags, suitcases, or anything that can hold them for the 5-minute drive over to the new house (once I get there after Christmas). My walls are bare, which is weird, because I usually have tons of pictures hanging, and I like to make a room most definitely mine. I haven't even started thinking about kitchen stuff yet, but honestly, that'll be the easy part. I just have to separate it into the boxes that'll be opened and used and the boxes that'll go into the basement until I move again.

Furniture won't be all that big a deal, either, I don't think. I don't have a lot here--my desk, wall unit, armchair, filing cabinet, and a few smaller things, mostly; I'm taking my waterbed back to my parents'; and I'm taking a bunch of stuff from my parents' place--a bed, dresser, and table, mostly.

Hanging out at Mom and Dad's for a few days is always a bit of a challenge, but I have to say that I am looking forward to not feeling like I should be packing when I'm not. It'll be nice to have a few days of not thinking about it. Although I am supposed to be painting a dresser, and I don't have paint to take with me. *sigh* There's always something that needs to be done, isn't there? Oh well... I'll get it all done in time, because I have to.

Anyways, I'm going to go get dressed and try to tackle my hair now...

One year ago today: Sooo..... watching Evil Dead until 4 in the morning is a great way to get into the Christmas spirit... Mmmmm.... milk and mashed potatoes! ;o) And yes, I realize that that's a *gasp* inside joke, which only two people will get, and that it's kinda bad manners to write it in a public diary, but oh well! It's my diary, and I can put inside jokes in it if I want to... But you can always join us... and then you'll know what the joke meant. Okay, I'm finished with that incredibly lame humor now.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:07 p.m.