about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Dec. 24
... Fingers in the imprints
*sigh*

I start a lot of my entries that way, don't I? Well, this is a good sigh. A happy sigh. An "I went to the Christmas Eve service and I love that kind of service" sigh. I actually went to 2 of them. The same one, though. Just for fun. And because it was so good. And because you just can't get enough Christmas carols.

I missed being a part of the service this year--I missed being in the living Nativity, but it was kind of nice to be a spectator for once, since I can't remember the last time I did that during a Christmas Eve service. Both ways are just as much fun, though. :o)

My presents are under the tree, stockings are stuffed, eggnog and cookies have been downed before bed. Forget leaving them out for Santa--we leave them out for ourselves! Everyone but Dad is asleep; he's still puttering around the house somewhere, wrapping last-minute gifts, stuffing his part of the stockings, and being as much of a night-owl as I am.

I've opened a few presents--mostly fun things for my house. A fondue pot from Kat, a lamp from Ness, and a calendar with her own poetry on it from Laura. All very good things that I will most definitely use and enjoy. :o) And my gifts that I got to give were very much appreciated. Especially Kat's massage pillow. I was excited for that one!

And now, I'm not all that tired yet, so I think I'll go try to find some e-cards to send people. It's weird--I'm not in as reflective of a mood as I was in last year, but I'm getting there. I think it must be the late nights that do it to me. Either that or being back at Mom and Dad's. Or maybe it's just the time of year. Heh. Fancy that.

Okay, I'm going now, before this gets even more demented than it already is. Go read last year's Christmas Eve entry. It's more profound than this one.

One year ago today: Kind of an odd combination, but isn't that the way it was planned? The very majesty of heaven, the wonder of it all brought into the ordinary, everyday way of life. Changing diapers, eating, sleeping, working, going to school... the King of Heaven bound by the limitations of this world. The wonder--there to whoever would see it--with the mundane.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:56 p.m.