about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jan 25
... My way, God
In a moment I felt his fingers around mine. Strong. I didn't understand anything. I didn't understand why Zachary wanted to live. I knew I was glad. But I didn't understand.

I remembered Uncle Douglas saying that we're always yelling, Do it MY way, God, not YOUR way, MY way.

Sometimes He picks the most peculiar ways.

I looked up at the sky and at the stars and at the moon, and the moon was no longer smiting me. I didn't know why. I didn't know what the difference was. I didn't understand the psalm any better now, and I still didn't understand about Anne Frank and the town of Frank, and I'd probably go right on yelling at God to do it my way when I got upset about things.

The point was that now I knew it didn't matter whether or not I understood. It didn't matter because even if I didn't understand, there was something there to be understood.

The Moon By Night, Madeleine L'Engle

Do it my way, God, not your way, my way. What a common theme running through my life. "I know what I'm doing, God, go away!" And then... days, weeks, months later... "Okay, I've screwed it up again. I have no clue what I'm doing. Really."

Will I ever learn? Honestly, will I ever stop trying to do things my way and then coming back to God with all the broken pieces, crying, "Fix it, Daddy!" when all he wanted to do was build it in the first place?

But yes, there is something to be understood. I think that sometimes I understand more than I want to let on that I do, because if I know I understand, that has to change something. Most of the time, though, I pretend I understand more than I do. At least, I pretend to understand more for the sake of the "rest of the world."

I think I'm contradicting myself, and not making much--if any--sense at all. That's okay. It's the state of my brain these days--not making much sense.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:50 p.m.