about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Jun. 12
... I want the world to see
My new favorite way to explore a new city is to navigate the public transit during rush hour with luggage. Totally the coolest way to do it, I think. The travel version of jumping into the deep end of the swimming pool right after being in the hot tub.

Rome reminds me of California. San Diego, maybe. At least, the area that we're staying in does. It's further away from the Ancient City, so it's a lot more modern, and a lot more spread out, and there are trees everywhere, and just the combination of the busyness, the size, the foliage, and the architecture reminds me of the times I've been to California.

It's funny how so many places remind me of somewhere else, whether it's because of the feeling of the place, rather than the look (New York and London), or it's because of the look of the place (Steyr and Banff), or some combination of both (Rome and San Diego). I find, though, that there's so often something to remind me of somewhere familiar. Maybe that's just my mind's defense mechanism, giving me a concrete place to hang my hat on, so to speak, but I find it fascinating nonetheless.

I was thinking about it today--how many cities have I taken public transportation in?

Calgary, obviously. Vancouver. Toronto. Edmonton? I think so. Los Angeles. Salt Lake City. Chicago. New York City. Tijuana. London. Salzburg. Rome. Not a bad track record.

Anyways, we need to find a map of this city. No one seems to have the little tourist maps that list all the major attractions... that's all we need. Nothing too fancy. But we haven't found one anywhere yet. That's next on the agenda--first was cheap internet, next is a map, and then we'll see what we've got time for after that.

It took us forever to get ourselves moving today... a combination of the heat and the fact that we didn't have to leave, like we did in a normal hostel, meant that we just lay around our cabin all morning and half of the afternoon. Just today, though. We've got a list of places to go and things to see in the next couple of days, so we can't afford to be that lazy again.

Still, though... it was nice.
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:14 p.m.