about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Monday, Aug. 22, 2005
... Day and night I talk to you
I love productivity. Especially shopping-related productivity. Yes... as much money as it costs me, spending money makes me feel like I have money. Heh. Especially when it's all stuff I need to get anyways.

Things like birthday cards, presents, and little things I need before I leave. Yup. Love me some shopping.

The bizarre thing is that I keep thinking I need to get certain things before I go, like I won't be able to buy anything once I'm there. Which is, of course, completely not true, because New York is like the shopping capital of... well, North America, anyways. And things like skirts and shoes? Some would say (some have said) that I'm crazy for even thinking about buying them here. The thing is, though, that they're much less expensive here, and if I have them before I go, there's a slight chance that I may be less tempted to buy them there.

Well, maybe not less tempted, but if I already have them, I won't be able to justify it. Hence, I won't spend any more money than I have to. "Have to." Because I just "have" to get new clothes.

Anyways... Kat and I spent the morning running around, doing all kinds of errands, and picking up some random things that I need before I go. And mostly, things that I really do need to get here. We're quite the popular people today, it seems! Laurel, Andria, and Esther all came calling or looking for us in some form or another, all wondering what we're doing this afternoon.

To answer... going home, starting my laundry, packing up the car with boxes, and taking a load of stuff out to my parents' house, where I will then go through some of the boxes that I've got in storage out there, and figure out what I need to get out. Yep, more stuff to fit into those suitcases. There's no way that I'm going to fit it all coming home. After 10 months of New York shopping? Yeah, good luck!

I have become the queen of strange questions to the point that Blair doesn't even question it anymore. I called this afternoon to ask him what color Becky's kitchen is, and I don't think it even phased him. Even if I preface it with, "I have a strange question for you..." it's just par for the course by now.

Anyways... I think Kat and her mom are back--totally the easiest babysitting job I've ever had (1/2 hour with a sleeping Jakes), so I'm going to get back to my productive day.

One year ago today: Do you ever find that some months you have worse PMS than other months? I've found that, although I've never actually tracked it to figure out which ones are worse... but I heard a very interesting theory about that this morning. Ovaries alternate releasing eggs, right--I mean, one month it's the left; the next, it's the right.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:24 p.m.