about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Mar. 28
... Productivity
Wow... it's only 3 in the afternoon, and already today's 10 times more productive than yesterday was. I had one of those freaky cleaning sprees today... the dishes are all done, my laundry (including all my blankets and my duvet cover!) is done, the bathroom is cleaned, my bedroom is clean, the house is vacuumed, everything's tidied up... weird, hey? Kat did a bunch before she left for the weekend, and I finished it up today.

I had a meeting with Cindy about our missions trip, too. Just picking her brain for little details that she can tell me about and give me help with now. I mean, to use a very old cliche, there's no use reinventing the wheel, right? I may as well take advantage of what she's already figured out.

Yesterday, though, I felt so incredibly unproductive. Working at the mall, I just don't feel like I get anything done. I don't have a project that I'm working on, or a definite goal that I'm working towards, besides getting to 9:00 and going home. I mean, I can have a goal of what I'm going to sell, but I'd rather be doing something. Doing security, I have a list that I check off as I do it. Doing kids' stuff, I have certain projects that I do, that I can see progessing and eventually being complete. Working on a drama, I can see the rehearsals progress, and even if I don't feel like one rehearsal or whatever is overly productive, I can see the whole picture coming together.

At Tickers, though, I can't. I sit (no I don't! I stand!) there for six hours, and do virtually nothing. I sell $10 watches, and while it's fun to watch people and interact with the customers, I want to have something to do. Some tangible goal that I can work towards.

Ah well... not everything will be what I want. And today, I most definitely made up for yesterday's nonproductivity. If I feel this motivated every day after I work, our house will be spotless, and I'll have every single piece of homework I've ever had to do finished in record time. Hmmm.... maybe that wouldn't be such a bad thing! ;o)
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:06 p.m.