about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Apr. 25
... I'm not playing anymore
I would have to say that Dave and Cindy are quite possibly the cutest couple ever. They are absolutely adorable together. And separately, but the cuteness factor triples when they're together. They have one of those fun marriages that I totally want to have someday.

After the dessert night, the two of them, Sharla, Janel, and I were hanging out in the chapel, and Dave was playing around, practicing for his concert in May... he's such an amazing singer. And Cindy is great, too, regardless of what she says. Anyways, it was so fun to watch them play, to play off each other. In some ways, I think it would be hilarious to be married to an actor. In some ways, it would be a lot of emotional stress, but sometimes, it would be so much fun.

I watch them, and I watch how their dreams and goals feed off each other, and I think that it's one of the most beautiful examples of a marriage and of using common passions to serve God so much more fully than alone.

I played the Rach today at the fundraiser, and afterwards Dave commented to me that he got into the journey of the piece; that he lost himself in the emotional journey that the song goes on... I started thinking about that; about how that piece is such an emotional one for me. On one scale, the piece itself is definitely a journey, and when I play it, I go on a journey every time. Each time, it's different, too. It depends on my mood, and on the place that I'm at that particular day.

On a bigger scale, though, that song has represented my emotional and life journey for the past four years... that's how long I've been playing it. It's changed, and become part of what I've gone through that entire time. The piece now is so much richer and has so many more layers than it did when I first started playing it, just because there's so much more experience, and so much more emotion behind it now.

I don't know how to explain it, really... I mean, it's bigger than I am, and it's a bigger piece of music than I'll ever be able to play, and yet it's such a part of me that the song is inextricable from me. I don't know if you understand what I mean; I don't know if you understand what comes over me when I play it, or what happens to me when I let myself be engulfed in the music, and I forget that I'm playing it, and just let myself experience it. I don't know how to explain it, I just know that it's there. It's a part of me, and it's undefinable.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:56 p.m.