about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Aug. 6
... Make you change my mind
Hmmm. It's Wednesday. Afternoon. Only 2 nights left in Bentley. Two days of VBS this week. Two weeks left. I'm just getting tired. I want to spend more than 2 nights at a time in my own bed. I want to get on with the business of moving, and not have to worry about it. I'm so grateful for people's hospitality and everything, but it's kind of tiring being a guest in someone's home so constantly. There's no downtime. We may have time to relax or hang out, but even when we have a place to crash, it's still someone else's home.

I should stop complaining. Really. Things are good. We've got good kids; we're having a good week. I'm just really tired. I'm not feeling well, and I want a few days to sleep without worrying about a schedule or anything else like that.

Anyways. Ummm. What else is new? I bought a devotional book yesterday at Christian Pub... It's been a while since I had something good that I was working through on a regular basis, so I hope this one will be really good. It's called A Heart That Dances. It's been a few years since I worked through a good book--I've done a "read through the Bible in a year" program for a few years, and lately I've been just reading some interesting theological and philosophical books and expanding my mind that way, but I need something with a bit more structure for a while. So yeah. That's that.

I'm just killing time right now. I need to go pee, but I'm at a library conmputer, and I can't leave it or I'll lose it, and that wouldn't be cool. I really don't have anything interesting to write. We're in Red Deer, since the Bentley library isn't open on Wednesdays. It's funny how frustrated Laurel and I both get with the limitations of small towns. We've gotten spoiled by being in a city where you can find some sort of life 24 hours a day.

I'm not cranky, I'm just blah. You know? I'm not in a bad mood, per se, I'm just not in a great mood. I don't feel much of anything right now. Just... moving along at the speed of life. Whatever speed that is. Pretty slowly today, I think.

Anyways, this isn't going anywhere, so I'm going to go. Finish writing emails. Fun times.

One year ago today: I was telling Min today that sometimes you know you're supposed to be going somewhere, and you're not. You know God wants you to be somewhere else in life than you are, but you're just too scared, or lazy, or apthetic, or whatever to go anywhere. Then there are the times when you're just racing ahead of where you know God wants you to be. You're just going, going, going; spiralling out of control, knowing that you're in a place where you're not waiting for God, and you're trying to run away as fast as you can. Eventually, you stop trying to run, but you've got too much momentum to stop. You're just going far too fast to slow down, and it keeps getting scarier and scarier.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:30 p.m.