about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Aug. 19
... An exciting #1 on the...
While I was waiting for a computer at the library to become available, I started reading a Baby-Sitters Club book. I haven't read those in ages! But they're the bomb. For sure. I mean, how much cooler than that does it get? I remember a Tri-Bond question, where the three things that had something in common were Claudia, Mary Anne, and Kristy. I mean, who wouldn't get that? Especially not someone who was in elementary school during the early 90's. Yeah. We were the coolest.

Baby-Sitters Club, Sweet Valley Twins, Sleepover Friends... how could you be a 9-year-old girl and not read those books?

Heh. They're fun to pick up every now and then, just for old times' sake. I wouldn't classify them as great children's literature, but they're just mindless fun.

Hmm. That's about the most inspiring thing I've had to talk about today. Only 3 more sleeps in someone else's house. Only 3 more dinner's at other people's homes. Only 3 more days of VBS.

My room has been semi-packed for two months, and I've been living out of a suitcase for those same two months, so let's just say that I am incredibly eager to get my stuff unpacked and settled in my new house. So excited. Can't wait until there are no more cardboard boxes for me to deal with. Unfortunately, I've got a few more to pack up before I can start unpacking.

But the move is close enough that I can do a box-by-box move--take a few things at a time, and not have to do it all at once. That's exciting. And it makes life a little easier.

I should go find Laurel soon. She left to do some shopping, so I should get out there and find her. This library is freezing. And I have to pee, but I'm not about to give up my spot at the computer to do so. Teehee. There's a 17-year-old boy (the youngest of 3 boys) who lives at the house we're staying at, and last night he was watching TV, and we wanted to watch a movie, but we weren't about to kick him off the TV.... so, we were being giggly in our bedroom (just down the hall from the TV), and eventually we were girly enough to scare him out of the TV room, and we got it. Mwahaha. Aren't we something? Yeah, that's what I thought.

One year ago today: You know it's a slow day in the office when, out of a staff of approximately 20, there are 3 of us in. Yah. How can you tell it's a Monday? Actually, it's probably going to be a slow week all around... a lot of the pastors are taking their "end of the summer vacation"--the ones who didn't leave in July are gone this week, so there's almost no one in all week. It's so dead around here today, though. Bev, Caleen, and I are the only ones here... it's definitely more fun when the place is hopping and everyone's in a good mood. This office can seriously be such a fun place to work most days. Everyone has such a fun, casual rapport with each other, and it makes it a really great work environment.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:29 p.m.