about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Jun. 24
... My life is pretty strange
Wow. I feel really delinquent. My buddy list says that I haven't updated in two days.

So anyways... Laurel's and commissioning service was this evening... that was really interesting. It was a really special evening. In more ways than one, let me say. Parts of it were really a gong show, but it was good, anyways.

It was funny though... Laurel and I always joke about being married to each other, and somehow, tonight turned into our "wedding." First of all, as part of the ceremonial commissioning, we both said, "I do." Then, we went off to a table on the platform, and signed our contracts, but it seemed strangely like signing a register. Then, after the service, they had a little reception thing, with cookies and food and stuff, and there was a cake there. So, we had our pictures taken with the cake, and then we were joking around about cutting it, and decided to try to cut it like a wedding cake (both of our hands on the knife).

Yeah. It was entertaining. I laughed. A lot.

Hmm. Lucy's trying to claw her way under my door, but it's not going to happen. I love the animal to bits, but not in my room while I'm sleeping. She's a little too playful still. Maybe when she gets old and lazy.

Anyways, I need sleep. I've been going all day, and tomorrow I get to smash wax with a sledgehammer. Don't ask. Just... don't. We'll all be better people because of it.

Oh, and I've discovered the joy of text messaging. :o) So much fun to waste time with. So... if you know my cell number, send me a message. That would be really cool.

One year ago today: I'm loving our team, too. We have a great team dynamic... we really have become like a bunch of brothers and sisters. Sometimes we get on each other's nerves, or we pick at each other and annoy each other, but we get along so well, and any of us would do anything for anyone else on the team. There's no question. In six weeks, I've gotten to know all five of them better than I did in the past two years, working together almost every day, and I know them better now than I do some of my friends that I've known for years. There's just a level of honesty and vulnerability there that we all have to have with each other, or everything falls apart.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:23 p.m.