about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Nov. 17
... This isn't what I signed up for!
For some reason, November 17 seems like it should be a momentous day. I don't know why. I know what's going on today, and it's fun, but not momentous... it seems like it should be the anniversary of something big, but I have no idea what. Meh... must not be that important.

I just might get this paper finished tonight--that would be quite the feat! :o) Oy. But it would be good to get it done on time... of course. Only 3 more papers this semester. This was such a heavy paper semester--I will have had 10 papers. That's a lot, even when they're spread out like that. There are reasons why I'm already not looking forward to these last few--it's not like they're the only ones I've had all semester.

Okay. I'm done with it. I've got about 1/2 the wordcount I need, and I don't really want to do the rest. Is that a good enough excuse, do you think? No? *sigh* Oh well... I guess I'll have to keep plugging away at it...

Tonight is Offerings... I'm heading out of here in about an hour to get to the church for practice. That'll be a good break.

My computer's going psycho on me. The internet keeps randomly disconnecting. Grrrr.... I really have nothing of importance to say right now, though, so I guess it doesn't really matter. I'm trying to research, though. That would be a great excuse, hey? "My internet was down, so I couldn't research my paper." And why, exactly, were you researching it the night before it was due? "Oh, no reason. I just didn't care enough to do it before." Yeah. That works.

But you know what? Only 3 weeks left of classes. That means, only 12 days left of classes. That means, only 3 more Analysis classes (yay!), 2 more Tutorial classes (not so yay), 5 more History of Christianity classes (yay!), and 6 more English Comp classes (runs around the room dancing for joy and doing cartwheels).

And then... a month off. And next semester, not nearly as many papers.

One year ago today: There's a black coil notebook that Christy and I used when I was in grade eleven, to begin writing our poetry anthology that we wanted to publish together someday, called, "The Effects of Adversity on the Human Spirit"--a title so shamelessly borrowed from an English diploma exam essay topic. The "manuscript" has about forty poems in it, and Christy's and my comments about what the poems were about. We'd wanted it to be like reading the introductions to the poems would be like reading notes that we were writing in class, because that's what they were! We spent most of English 30 and Religious Studies 25 passing the notebook back and forth, writing comments until we had about a page of introduction for each poem. We never finished the book, though. I think we have intros for a little over half the poems...
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:26 p.m.