about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jul. 2
... Ack! Rush.
See, the thing is, I was planning to bring my laptop vanning with me this week. I figured it would be nice and handy to have and potentially use to check email on a slightly more regular basis than hardly ever. I decided at the last minute to leave it at home, because really, who doesn't have internet access these days?

Apparently, our billets don't. Yeah. And they go to bed earlier than Laurel and I do, so we could have plugged it into their phone line without much annoyance/interference. As it is, I haven't checked my email since Saturday, and it's now Wednesday afternoon. This is almost something like withdrawal for me! :o)

I'll be a lot more accessible for the rest of the summer. I'll bring it with me--at least that way, if the rest of our billets don't have internet access, we'll be able to do something with it.

Other than that, though, the week's going well. It's been fun--we've had quite a few kids, but they haven't been unmanageable, for the most part. It's been a better than some of the daycamp/VBS experiences I've had.

Except for the candles. Heh. Yeah. That was funny. Not really, but looking back on it, it's somewhat laughable.

Grrr. The library's closing. I should get going.

But can I just say that it's super cool that Vancouver got the 2010 winter Olympics? I remember when they were in Calgary in '88, and how cool that was, even though I was only 5. I hope I'm still close enough to here to go and check it out when it's there. And it's weird to think that it's 6 1/2 years until they happen, but they won the bid now. That means that I wasn't even conceived yet when Calgary won the bid for the '88 Olympics.

Heh. Vancouver's not as cool as Calgary, but at least it's within driving distance, and it's cool by association.

Okay, they're turning out lights on me. I gotta go.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:54 p.m.