about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Aug. 19
... The girl with the broken smile
Last night, Chelsea and I hung out, and I was informed that I had left a box of stuff in their basement when I moved out of that house a year ago. Just a bunch of books and stuffed animals and so on--obviously, nothing too crucial that I've missed that much!

I was looking through it, though, and there was a notebook that I had used as an autograph book when I was in high school--people had signed it at camp, SEMP, the Mexico 2000 missions trip, the end of school in '99 and 2000... and it was so strange to look back and see all these people who have been in and out of my life in various capacities since then. The first entries in there are from camp '98, though. That was 6 years ago.

Babies that were born that summer are starting grade one this year. Relationships that were begun that year have turned into marriages, or close friendships, or have run their course and are finished.

Some of the people in that book have been a part of my life for years--long before they signed the book, and long after. Some, I hardly even remember, and I wouldn't have, if I hadn't seen their names. Some were a huge part of my life at that time, but have faded out of the picture since then. Some have come in and out, and have reappeared in unexpected ways since they signed.

And the weirdest thing is that, at the time, I had no idea. They were just there. Part of my life for that moment, regardless of what they would or wouldn't be in the future. And the other thing is that I still don't know how some of these people may play into the future still.

Interesting.

One year ago today: While I was waiting for a computer at the library to become available, I started reading a Baby-Sitters Club book. I haven't read those in ages! But they're the bomb. For sure. I mean, how much cooler than that does it get? I remember a Tri-Bond question, where the three things that had something in common were Claudia, Mary Anne, and Kristy. I mean, who wouldn't get that? Especially not someone who was in elementary school during the early 90's. Yeah. We were the coolest.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:18 p.m.