about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Apr. 13
... La la la. La la la la la
I'm going to take advantage of every moment of niceness I can get from Laura because of my kidney and my whiplash to beat her up while she won't beat me back! :o) I'm evil, aren't I? But hey, there have to be some advantages to this thing!

Oh, and I was watching the Charlie Brown video today, and one of the rehearsal blooper shots shows Jordan and I fighting, pushing each other around about something. Seriously, I think we beat each other up more than any other two people in the program. It's kinda crazy!

One of the things I have the most problems with within the church is the fact that we're so willing to be open and forgiving to people from "outside," but when it comes to our own... we don't do such a great job.

Think about pregnant teen girls. We (speaking in the general sense; I'm not saying that every Christian or church is like this) will go volunteer at the Crisis Pregnancy Care center, we'll help to get teen prostitutes off the streets, we'll do whatever it takes to help them, whether it's through time, finances, prayers, or energy in some form or another. When it comes to one of the Christian teens in the church, though, it's a different story. She disappers for nine months, and if she comes back, the topic is taboo.

Yes, the church should be a place where people can come for help, and where they can turn their lives around and get practical help doing it, not just spiritual help. And we're doing a pretty good job of helping people from the "outside," so to speak. We're not bad at that side of things. What we need help with is realizing that "our own" are just as vulnerable to temptation and just as likely to sin as others, and need just as much care.

Both pregnant girls should know that sex outside of marriage is wrong. They should hear the truth that they screwed up from the church, but they should also know the truth that God's grace covers it, and that the church will be there to help them deal with the consequences and make right choices from there on in.

Unfortunately, the church is too often the place that becomes the most judgmental and condemning, instead of the most forgiving. Especially to the people who "should know better," who have been taught their entire lives.

In any case, I can't change the whole system. But I can watch my attitude. I mean, I've had my share of sins; I've made my share of wrong choices. Who am I to condemn you for yours? That's God's job. Not mine.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:48 p.m.