about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Jul. 14
... Island adventure
Well. It's going to be quite the week, I think. It already feels like it should be Thursday, not Monday. There's really not a lot to do in Bentley, and it's too far to drive to Red Deer to do anything with our afternoons. So. I think that after this week, we'll have craft prep finished for the rest of the summer, and I can foresee us spending a lot of time at the local library, using the internet connection here.

Our billet's house is interesting. Our billet is an older woman, who was widowed about a year ago, and every knick-knack and everything of importance to her is proudly on display. Every couch is covered with pillows, and nothing matches, but it's all very homey. I'm sleeping in a king-sized bed, and Laurel has a cot. Heh. She offered the bed to both of us, to share, but Laurel picked the cot over the big bed.

There's a buzzing sound--like the timer on the drier--that goes off every 3 1/2 minutes, and I'm really hoping that we get used to it enough to sleep through it. I did okay last night, but Laurel didn't sleep so well...

The kids are good. It's a smaller group than the last two weeks, but it should be lots of fun.

I'm blabbering, trying to take up a few more minutes before I admit defeat and log off the computer. *sigh* It's going to be quite a week. Maybe we'll have to drive into town one day, just so that we have something to keep ourselves occupied. Yeah. Fun times.

Anyways... go read this if you didn't read my entry yesterday. It's much more thought-provoking than this one is. Much more interesting. I'll come up with something later. I brought my laptop with me this week, so I can at least type out entries, and then go online for a few minutes to post.

Okay. Laurel's now killing time, waiting for me to finish, so I'm off.

One year ago today: I'm getting excited about the little things about being home: Going to Peter's for milkshakes. Sleeping in my waterbed. Having a bigger selection of clothes. Being able to wash my clothes after wearing them once. Going to Denny's. Slurpees. Driving my car. Not having someone else controlling my time. Going to my church. Driving on the proper side of the road. Getting my pictures developed. Not having to worry about how much things cost with exchange. Borrowing Janel's movies and watching them. Working security. Seeing everyone again (although that's not really a "little" thing). Getting my mail.


infinite || abyss

posted at 2:18 p.m.