about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Feb. 25
... This is what it sounds like
I spent 2 1/2 hours in Fabricland with my mom tonight, looking for a pattern and fabric for a dress for one of my scenes in my showcase--it's actually the dress (well, skirt and top) for my dance with Logan. Oh my. What an experience. I mean, I love the fact that she's going to sew the dress, and it'll be really great, but seriously.

It was like shopping for the pattern and fabric for my high school grad dress all over again. Yeah. That was an ordeal. We have different tastes, that's all. And when she's sewing my clothes, the different tastes come out that much more clearly.

Tonight wasn't that bad, and we did eventually get the pattern and the fabric. And it's easy to make... chances are, I'll wear it for my grad, which makes this a whole lot cheaper and easier than my high school dress. Interesting. It should be really good for the dance, though.

Here's a picture... I'm getting the top on the left, and the skirt on the right. I like the long one, but I think I might step on it. Heh. That would be entertaining. Anyways, the top will be black, and the skirt will be black and red--black down past my hips-ish, and then the bottom half is red. Very flowy... it'll move with the dance. I'll be in heels, and then Logan will either be in all black, or in black pants and a red shirt. I haven't quite decided yet... I'll have to see how the whole thing looks. I also have to practice this thing in heels. Heh.

I'm really excited for it, though. The look is going to be really good, I think. It comes right after my scene with Jordan, where he plays an abusive husband, and I'm the wife who can't leave, because I love him, no matter how I try to convince myself otherwise. The dance follows that, and I'm kind of picturing something like the Tango de Roxanne in Moulin Rouge. Not the style of dance, per se, but the fact that the dance is almost a formalization of the relationship. You know, how the dance parallels what's happening in the real live situation. Our dance is very... love/hate. Back and forth. Very passionate, and almost violent at times. Going from one extreme to the other. Dria's choreographed it, and it's looking really good. Very exciting.

I just have to practice not stepping on Logan's toes in my heels. Heh.

Anyways. Bedtime. Oy. This reading week is going so much faster than I wanted it to. Isn't that always the way?
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:28 p.m.