about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Feb. 19
... Fortunate discoveries
Hmmm. Let's start with a Thursday Threesome

::Serendipity: Making fortunate discoveries by accident::

Onesome: Serendipity:-- Do you believe in destiny? In a manner of speaking, I suppose so. I believe in a plan. I believe that God is a very active part of human's day-to-day lives, and that he works in and through our decisions and through coincidences to shape our lives and to guide us. I don't think that life is random; I believe that there is an overarching plan that's bigger than any one person's life, and that's bigger than any one decision. Having said that, I definitely believe in free will, and that we have the ability to make choices that affect our destiny, but I don't think that our choices are too much for God to handle.

Twosome: Making fortunate discoveries-- What is your greatest "find"? Is it an antique you discovered tucked away at a garage sale? Or maybe something as simple as the great sale on khakis or lawn mowers at your favorite store? Well, one that's always a favorite is the waterbed I got for free at a garage sale. Heh. That entertained me for several years. I think the best finds are the simple things--a great pair of shoes for $10; a copy of the complete works of Shakespeare at a used bookstore for $10; a great batch of books on ebay; that movie poster that you've just wanted forever... not the huge, earth-shattering things, but the simple things that just make your day.

Threesome: by accident-- Have you ever discovered a place entirely by accident and it's become a favourite place to go now? A hidden grove in the city park, a wonderful little coffee shop or restaurant, a treasure trove of a shop? This summer, I found several great used bookstores in random small towns across Alberta. I guess it wasn't completely by accident, but Reid's stationary store is an absolute favorite... I love that place, and I kind of stumbled across it, although it wasn't entirely inadvertent. Another favorite is this great coffee shop--BadAss Coffee Co. Open 24 hours; great nachos and stew. Very nice.

Anyways... I still have 3 rehearsals to go before I get to go home tonight, and Laurel wants to get some supper before the first one starts in 45 min.
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:35 p.m.