about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Apr. 18
... Surprises!
Maybe God knew I wouoldn't fully appreciate the trip until now. Maybe he knew I had to have it taken away, had to be forced to stay with the semester anyways, had to go through 3 months of utter crap, and had to get to the point where I was so desperate that I was begging him to let me go away for a while. Then he said okay. But not until I'd already thought it was hopeless. Not until he could surprise me with it.

When I went into the office to tell Cindy that my answer was a definite--not conditional--yes, she, Sharla, and Janel started cheering. Sharla gave me a big hug and hugged me for so long that Cindy told her to give me some air. Sharla's response? "This is a hug that's been a long time finishing." It was the continuation of the hug she gave me when I found out I hadn't made the team.

I saw a mom and a dad in the mall today, each pushing the stroller. The dad was pushing a 2 year old, and the mom was pushing a few-month-old baby. The little girl was yelling, "Mommy chase Daddy! Mommy chase Daddy!" delightedly as both parents careened their strollers back and forth across the mall, the mom chasing the dad and trying to bump her stroller into his.

I think my favorite thing about working at Tickers is coming across a watch that's set behind and being able to move it an hour or two ahead. "Mwahahahaha! You only wish it was only 4:30... it's really 6:30! I'm not here two hours longer than I have to be!" My least favorite thing, though is finding a watch that's ahead and having to set it back. "Nooooo!!! If only it really was 8:45, not just 6:45..."
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:50 p.m.