about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Aug. 25
... You don't know what you've been missing
I'm having house envy. For once, it's not husband envy. Okay, that sounds worse than it is. Husband in general. Not anyone's husband in particular. Oh, you know what I mean.

Jen and Mike are getting all those wedding-present kinds of things--household items, kitchen stuff... their big present from the families is a really nice, custom-made kitchen table and chairs and bedroom furniture, and I'm so jealous of all their matching sets and new appliances. My kitchen (and house) is furnished with the college-student garage sale fare of household items, and that's just the way it is. I don't want to buy new stuff, because the older stuff is good enough for now, and one of these days, I will get married and get new stuff, and then I can pass all the old kitchen stuff on to a sibling or someone.

I'm starting to wonder, though. At what point does a single woman give in and start buying the new stuff, because wedding presents are very far away, or not even forthcoming at all? When she buys her own house? When she ceases to have roommates? When she turns 30? What's the breaking point where you just say, "I'm sick of hand-me-downs; I want my own nice kitchen!"?

Obviously, I'm not there yet, but I wonder when I'll get to that point, and what I'll do when I get there. I can see that--outfitting a house in that way--being something very bittersweet. For me, anyways. For some, I'm sure it wouldn't be, but for me, there would be a sense of admitting defeat. Giving up on a dream. Something like that.

When I get back--within hours of stepping off the plane--I move, though. I'm really excited to get into this place, and I'm excited to unpack everything that's been in boxes for the past 6 months. Famous last words: I'm planning to stay in this house until I either get married or move away for my Master's. Rebecca's planning to be there for a couple of years, at least, so hopefully it'll all work out and stay that way.

Anyways, I should get off and stop tying up the computer.
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:46 p.m.