about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Sept. 1
... Open my eyes so I can see
Believe it or not, this is entry #1000. I've been around here for a while, hey? I should probably change my layout, too, but I don't want to give up on the summer look just yet. I'll hang onto it for a few more days, then I'll try to find something else.

A year ago today, I got in the car and took off, and I ended up in Vancouver. It was seriously three of the best days ever. Just me and the car and the music and the road and God. All hanging out together. It was amazing, and it was better because it was spontaneous.

I can't believe school starts on Wednesday. This year has gone by so fast. These three years have gone by so fast.

September is really the start of the new year. January is about the date; September is about the year. Everything changes in September. It's amazing how much the school system has permeated our society. Everything takes a break in the summer and starts up again in full force in September.

If you're into resolutions, though, there's a place for a "New Year's Resolution" every couple of months. The beginning of school. New Year's. The new semester. Birthday. The beginning of summer. So if you need an excuse for a resolution, there's always something.

I always start the new semester with the best intentions. I'll stay on top of my readings. I'll do my journals when I get them. I'll start papers before the week they're due. I'll get enough sleep. I'll memorize my lines as soon as I get the script.

We'll see how it goes. Every semester, something gets a little better, and something falls by the way. It just keeps changing. We'll see what this semester brings.

It doesn't feel as much like "back to school" as some years, though. Maybe because I've been moving. That's been the main thing these days... and I'm finally all unpacked, although there's still quite a bit of work to do. It's more decorating stuff, though, rather than unpacking and moving in. For the most part.

Yeah. We're going to Ikea this afternoon. That's always exciting. And then I have to memorize my monologues for auditions next Monday. It's started already... I've had them for 3 weeks already, and have I memorized them yet? No. But I will have them done for Monday. Absolutely.

One year ago today: I always say I'm going to do something fun like that, but I always chicken out. I think, though, that I'm going to be a little kid. I'm going to pack my backpack with a change of clothes and as many milk and cookies as I can fit, pack my journals, pens, books, cds, and anything else I deem important, fill my car with gas, and just drive. I'll be back tomorrow or Tuesday, or whenever I feel like I've exhausted my adventurous streak. I'll be back when I've tricycled around the block enough times to realize that I'm not going to get anywhere and that home is really the most comfortable place after all. Because at home, at least the milk and cookies are warm.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:42 p.m.