about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Aug. 31
... Answers to Laura's questions!
So, after sitting in my inbox for several days, I'm taking a break from unpacking and cleaning before 1:30 a.m., and answering Laura's questions.

1. I've never known anybody who was studying theatre - what made you decide to go with that? What do you hope or plan to do after graduation? I've loved theatre for as long as I can remember--I was always the cousin who would write little plays, force my younger cousins to act in them, and force the adults to watch them after Christmas dinner and during all family get-togethers. When I got to high school and had to narrow down what I wanted to do, I came to the theatre conclusion pretty quickly, although at that point, I was considering either majoring in youth and minoring in theatre, or else doing a double major. I still really have a heart for youth ministry, but when I got to Rocky, it just seemed more feasible to major in one or the other, and theatre won out.

As for what I want to do with it... I've been running an amateur theatre company through my church for high-school and college students for about 5 years now, and I want to take it outside of the church and take it professional. I want to have a standard five-show season, and provide a place where kids aged 14 through 20 can explore their creativity and learn about theatre in a hands-on, professional style setting. I want to give them the chance to work with experienced directors, technicians, stage managers, and so on, and give them the chance to try out various aspects of theatre. I want to expect excellence from them, because I know they can give it, and I want them to experience a more professional setting than they would get in a high school drama class or whatever. Eventually, I'd also like to see a separate branch of the company develop that would give them an opportunity to spend part of the summer, or even a year-long commitment for those who are out of school, travelling and using theatre as a ministry in various churches and venues. That's the short version of the answer.

2. I noticed you listed "Bronwyn" as a potential future child's name. My co-worker was very nearly named Bronwyn - her mother read it in a romance novel. Where did you hear the name? I totally don't remember where I heard it first. I know a couple of little girls named Bronwyn, and I think I must have read it in a book somewhere. I really like names with an Irish/Celtic feeling to them, though, and that's definitely one of those.

3. Did you ever want to change your own name? What were your favorite names as a child? When I was in kindergarten, I changed my name to "Star Princess," and I made everyone call me that. It's on all my school papers and everything. As for wanting to change it to anything besides that, though, I don't think I did. My favorite dolls' names were Margaret and Sandra, and those were some of my favorite names. I also remember thinking that Sarah was a pretty name.

4. My favorite Bible verse is Joshua 1:9 - what's yours? Why? Just one? Heh. That's an impossibility to pick out! One that's meant a lot to me lately, and was actually very instrumental in picking the name for my company (Unnamed Productions) is Revelation 2:17. "He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes, I will give some of the hidden manna. I will also give him a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to him who receives it." God's taken me through a lot of discovery when it comes to the significance of a name lately, and everything that signifies, especially in a spiritual sense.

5. What was the best concert you've ever been to? Probably Jars of Clay and DC Talk when I was 17. Very much fun. I'd been to several other concerts, but that one was probably the biggest. We had seats in the second row, because my friend's mom got on the phone to Ticketmaster as soon as they went on sale, and so that was a blast.

Whee! If you want to take this, here is the cut and paste part. You can ask me to write the questions.

1 -- Leave a comment, saying you want to be interviewed.
2 -- I will respond; I'll ask you five questions.
3 -- You'll update your journal with my five questions, and your five answers.
4 -- You'll include this explanation.
5 -- You'll ask other people five questions when they want to be interviewed.

One year ago today: I guess I just assume that everyone has at least one or two lifelong friends who have been there as long as they can remember... that's not the case, though. I've been blessed not to move every couple of years. I've been blessed to stay grounded, at a church where people have known me longer than I've known them. Older people who have prayed me through the tough times. Friends my own age who have been constants, even through the turmoil of junior high and petty squabbles at school.
infinite || abyss
posted at 6:11 p.m.