about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Aug. 30
... Somehow you've got everybody fooled
Well. I made it back from Ontario just fine... It's not even 3 p.m., though, and I've already been up for over 12 hours. Gotta love those early flights with the time change.

The wedding was beautiful--need I even say that? Of course it was. Jen was a beautiful bride, and maybe when someone sends me some pictures (or when I get mine developed), I'll post some. It really was a fun week, though. Good to get away; good to see Jen and Mike, and I was so glad that I was able to be there for the day. Jen's mom (and Jen and Mike, for that matter) thanked me for coming, but honestly, I wouldn't have missed it for the world. It was so totally important that I be there for it.

I had a great time with Kristen and Melissa, the other bridesmaids. We had all heard so much about each other that it was like we knew each other, just without faces to go with all the names and facts! A little awkward being the only non-sibling in the wedding party without a significant other, but that's just a minor detail. It's not like my "other" could have been there, even if he did exist, so I still would have been the odd one out.

It was gorgeous, though. Jen was stunning--her dress was handmade and hand-beaded, and that in itself was incredible. It was a very simple tank-style dress with princess seams--very elegant and distinguished. Our dresses were burgundy two-piece dresses, with satin skirts, and the tops had an organza overlay, just to make them shiny and pretty.

The weather cooperated for most of the day--it poured for some of the afternoon, but it just started to drizzle as the photographer was taking the last two pictures, so we were under an awning by the time the downpour started. Getting to the cars was a little bit of an adventure, though--there weren't enough umbrellas for everyone, so most of us got soaked. Luckily, the dresses dried pretty quickly.

The reception was fun--by that point, my "duties" were mostly finished, except to clean up, so I was able to just relax and enjoy myself. I didn't really know anyone there, which had its pluses and minuses. One nice thing was that I wasn't really expected to mingle. I could talk to whomever I wanted, and meet whoever I wanted, but I didn't really have anyone I was obligated to see. It was, however, a weekend of "It's A Small World After All" connections.

And this doesn't so much fall into the "It's A Small World After All" category, but into the "This Is So Weird I'm Getting Freaked Out" category. Apparently, a few of Jen and Mike's friends know a girl named Alida. That's great... except that her name is Alida Klassen. Yeah. That's about what I said. I just about choked on my lasagna and spit it across the table.

Oy. Not such a fan of the moving business. It'll be great once I'm settled in, but the process of getting there is such a pain. Soon. Although this time, when I move, I lose the vehicle. Temporarily. Still. I don't want to lose it at all! :o) Ah well...

I've gotten so far behind on the NaNo boards while I've been gone--I haven't posted much in the past week, and I need to get on that.

And also, I have a new email account--a Gmail account, which are, apparently in high demand, as accounts are by invitation only right now. Anyways, I have a few account invitations that I can send out, so if you're interested in a gmail account, email me, and I can hook you up!
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:52 p.m.